Getting around Europe – Denmark to Hungary

So there is not much planning on my end going into my trip to Denmark. Since I’m going to a conference, I know everything will be taken care of and I have my agendas already saved to my laptop.

It is the after conference that I am currently working on planning.

While exploring the whole of Europe is such a tantalizing idea, I have chosen Hungary as my one and only stop on this journey, and I will get into that in a later post.

The question is how should I travel from Copenhagen to Budapest?

I have two options since I will NOT be driving in Europe, and the quickest plane ride I’ve found is a little over five hours while a train trip is at least around 20 hours. Is extra time worth the money?

Is the extra time worth the money but there are benefits to taking the train including the sightseeing and traveling through different countries.

The whole process has been frustrating since I think I’ve found a great deal on midnight trains from Copenhagen or midnight trains to Budapest (sounds like the name of my eventual memoirs), but then I cannot find the deal again the next time I look.

Reading into train and plane travel in Europe (a post on all my recent reading material I will posted later), there are plenty of things to make travel cheaper which take a bit more work and good timing which just adds another layer of complexity to the voyage. Berlin is a stop along the way by train and it can be cheaper to get separate tickets from Copenhagen to Berlin and then Berlin to Budapest.

I hesitate using a website like Kayak or Expedia since I have heard good things and bad things about these sites and current experience has me bouncing from one website to another through no fault of my own (that is just where the clicking takes me).

Trying to do this cheap has added another layer of stress since I’m not even sure I am finding the cheapest deals and I’m worried about committing to something too soon without knowing I have looked under every rock the internet has to offer.

Beyond all those issues is my hesitancy to set things in stone right now. Everything time I think I’ve made up my mind on something I stop and change my mind.

I could use some tips from any seasoned travelers out there.

Photo courtesy of Google Maps.

Come back for my next posts that I am currently working on:

Preparing for jet lag

Things I’ve been advised not to pack but I still am

Going back to my homeland

Leave a comment